About Us

"Just wanted to let you know what a positive and delightful experience my family and I had at the Blind Center on Wednesday.  I am 91, have macular degeneration so am vision impaired.  We went to your Center hoping to find an aid I could purchase.  We had such a great personal service from Hy and were really surprised when he said if the item I chose was in stock that it would be free to me.  What a nice surprise!  I am so grateful to the Blind Center for this experience and the vision aid I received.  Thank you SO much!  I have found the vision aid to be very helpful--I truly am thankful and blessed! May God bless you and your staff for the wonderful work and service that you are doing for those of us who are vision impaired."  —Virgina


Office Building of Community Center for the Blind

Community Center for the Blind and Visually Impaired (CCBVI) has served thousands of people in San Joaquin County for more than 68 years. CCBVI's mission is to provide the means by which people who are visually impaired can improve and sustain their capabilities and potentials to re-establish purpose and self-esteem in their lives and in society, while leading independent lives.


To provide the information, tools, and resources that will empower and inspire people who are blind and visually impaired to achieve their full potential.



Michelle Galvan
Executive Director

Sarah Bennett
Accounting Manager

Elsie Hirata, M.B.A.
Case Manager / Volunteer Coordinator


Joni Bauer, M.S., Certified Orientation and Mobility Specialist
Orientation & Mobility Specialist / Independent Living Skills Instructor

Hayim "Hy" Cohen, JAWS® certified, Ai Squared ZoomText Professional Certification, Accredited Dolphin Guide Trainer
Computer & Assistive Technology Instructor

Matthew Morgan, Ai Squared ZoomText Fusion Certification
Computer & Assistive Techology Instructor

Laurie Pattingale, B.A., Education Specialist, Visual Impairments and Mild/Moderate Disabilities

Jessica Speers

Janet Whitehouse
Activities Coordinator


Board of Directors


  • President: Judi A. Howell, Stockton Unified School District (Retired)
  • Secretary: Shelia Patterson, Kaiser Permanente
  • Treasurer: Roy Patterson, Business Owner (Retired)/Tracy Breakfast Lions Club


  • Lance Calkins, City of Albany Fire Department
  • Julian Cruz, Jr., BancWest
  • Scott Fry, Stockton Unified School District
  • Ellen McKeegan, Hakeem, Ellis & Marengo
  • Daniel C. Nuss, University of the Pacific/Mayor's Task Force For Persons With Disabilities
  • Alexandra Ottesen, Community Philanthropist
  • William Ridley, Stockton Unified School District

Honorary Members

  • Edgar W. Case
  • James R. Cox, Sr.
  • Mimi Eberhardt
  • William H. Reynolds